Demanding a Presence:

The Unbuilt Works of Louis I. Kahn

Thursday 21 February, 2013
6:30 - 8pm, $0

CUNY Spitzer School of Architecture
141 Convent Avenue, Sciame Auditorium

Add to Calendar
Share: Twitter | Facebook

Robert Mc Carter is a practicing architect, professor, and author. Ruth and Norman Moore Professor of Architecture at the Sam Fox School of Design and Visual Arts, Washington University in St. Louis. McCarter has also taught at the University of Florida, where he was Director of the School of Architecture from 1991-2001, Columbia University, the University of Louisville, the Berlage Institute, and North Carolina State University. He has been involved in the professional practice of architecture continuously since 1977, in California, New York, Florida, and Missouri; he holds an NCARB Certificate; and he has been licensed since 1982. McCarter is the author of Understanding Architecture: A Primer on Architecture as Experience (with Juhani Pallasmaa, 2012); Wiel Arets: Autobiographical References (2012); Louis I. Kahn (2005); Frank Lloyd Wright: Critical Lives (2006); William Morgan: Selected and Current Works (2002); Frank Lloyd Wright (1997); Unity Temple: Frank Lloyd Wright (1997); and Fallingwater: Frank Lloyd Wright (1994). Books currently at press include Alvar Aalto: Art & Ideas; Carlo Scarpa; and Aldo van Eyck; books currently under contract include Marcel Breuer; Marcel Breuer Koerfer House; Steven Holl; and Interiority. McCarter has edited the Atlas of 20th Century World Architecture (with Jean-Louis Cohen and Adrian Forty, 2012); On and By Frank Lloyd Wright: A Primer of Architectural Principles (2005); Building: Machines, Pamphlet Architecture No. 12 (1987); and ABSTRACT Volumes 1-4 (1988-91). He has written essays, chapters and introductions which have been included in over one hundred professional journals, monographs and scholarly publications. Among his awards and honors were selection as one of the Ten Best Educators in Architect magazine, December 2009; two finalists in the RIBA International Book Awards, 2006; Rotch FoundationTraveling Studio Award, 2003; Graham Foundation Grant, 1989; and first prize, SOM Traveling Fellowship Competition, 1983.

Advertise on Platform